Tags

, , ,

Which book did you read recently?

The Invention of Huge Cabret.

Can you describe it?

It is a very interesting book about a boy named Hugo. His dad used to be a clockmaker and he was like an apprentice with him and when his dad died in an accident where his house burned down and he burnt with it Hugo started living in the clocks of a plaza and has been keeping the clocks maintained. Hugo’s father actually found this automaton in the museum and no one using it or displaying it, so he took it and decided to fix it. And once he passed away and Hugo took it and kept stealing parts from a toymaker secretly and slowly fixing the automaton after it got broken in the fire the dad died in. Then one day he gets caught by the toymaker. Hugo … [is] able to fix the automaton and finds a message from his father and he discovers a secret about the toymaker.

It is not a picture book or a graphic novel or a flip book or a movie either. Can you describe the unique experience of reading this book?

Actually, it does have some pictures that tell the story from the point of view of Hugo and also from the point of view of a friend that Hugo makes. I really enjoyed it because when it showed the picture it helped me understand what the characters looked like and how the scenery was.

But how were the pictures different from an illustrated novel like A Series of Unfortunate Events?

In A Series of Unfortunate Events, it repeatedly has pictures. Almost half the book is pictures. The author … I think he uses the picture to tell part of the story. I think it was a pretty nice and unique way to do so.

How many pages of pictures were there at a time?

It depends, usually five or more.

When you reached the pages of pictures, what were you doing?

When I reached the pictures, I remembered parts from the story I read recently and tried to figure out what the author was trying to day in the pictures and what was happening. The pictures were in sequence and order, slowly building up, and once I get to the last picture it all builds up and I understand what it means!

Can you compare this reading experience to reading another book?

Well, in A Series of Unfortunate Events, once I looked at the pictures on the cover of the Baudelaire orphans, I tried to picture what would happen and what it would look like. And in the Invention of Hugo Cabret it showed exactly what the author was trying to show instead of trying to imagine it myself as I was doing in the Series of Unfortunate Events.

Which book did you like better? Why?

A series of Unfortunate Events. Well, I always listened to it with music in my room. And also, when I read it in school my teacher would turn on some music. It felt like the right kind of book with the right amount of suspense and how Lemony Snicket writes it. His type of writing.

His writing style?

Hmm. I also learned some new words.

So, the Invention of Hugo Cabret you enjoyed for…

The thing is, in the Series of Unfortunate Events, there were 13 books I could keep on each story and progressing through each chapter instead of reading only one book and it would be put to an end. The writing style in Huge Cabret, I liked that style also, but in the Series of Events, the Baudelaire children would have to solve and go through lots of ordeals and get out of them, and I enjoyed the series of Unfortunate Events more because of the writing style and the suspense and how the Baudelaire children had to solve these problems. I naturally enjoyed that.

Since the book Invention of Hugo Cabret is almost like a movie, what was your experience of watching the movie Hugo?

Well, I actually watched the move first. After I watched the movie, there was a book fair at my school. And I remembered that I watched the movie. And when I read the book, they were actually similar. Actually,  [they were] almost exactly the same. Usually, some books, like Percy Jackson, I watched the movie and when I read the book there were some different events and the book was actually sort of better.  But with the Invention of Hugo Cabret there were only a few changes. They actually showed some of the pictures in the movie.

Out of 10, how would you rate the book?

The Invention of Hugo Cabret, I rate it eight and a half.

Would you recommend the book?

Yes, I would recommend it very much. I think the sort of genre it is — the style of the book —  it is kind of like those classic films like Flubber and Jumanji that people like to watch. They are the kind of movies that a lot of people remember — sometimes the plot of it. They are exciting because they make you imagine these unrealistic things can happen. Reading the book was like watching a movie, especially when they gave you the pictures to project in your mind.

